Welcome to AMCOMET

Building Climate and Disaster Resilience in Africa
Building Climate and Disaster Resilience in Africa

AMCOMET Africa Hydromet Forum

The inaugural AMCOMET Africa Hydromet Forum will bring together representatives from governments, public and private sectors, regional entities, development agencies and civil society to provide strategic insight to improve hydrological, meteorological and early-warning services to achieve climate and disaster resilience as part of a larger sustainable development strategy. Co-hosted by the African Union Commission and the Federal Democratic Republic of Ethiopia, the Forum will build consensus and momentum to modernize weather, water, and climate information services.


Click here to register. Share that you are attending with @AMCOMET #AfricaHydromet17

Message from the Bureau Chair

Thank you for actively participating during the Third Session of AMCOMET which took place in Praia, Cabo Verde from 10 – 14 February 2015.  The depth and richness of your deliberations has ensured the success of the Session and the approval of the Praia Ministerial Declaration, which outlines our work during the inter-sessional period. 


Integrated African Strategy

During the Second Session of the African Ministerial Conference on Meteorology / African Union Conference of Ministers Responsible for Meteorology, the Ministers adopted the Integrated African Strategy on Meteorology (Weather and Climate Services). 

WMO Activities in Africa

The links below provide an overview of WMO activities in Africa, including major initiatives such as the Global Framework for Climate Services, the Regional Climate Outlook Forums and the WMO Fellowship Programme.

Poster (PDF), Front Page (JPG), Back Page (JPG)

Third Session of AMCOMET

The Third Session of the African Ministerial Conference on Meteorology (AMCOMET) will take place the 15 to 18 October 2014 in Cabo Verde.  The conference is organized in partnership between the African Union Commission (AUC), World Meteorological Organization (WMO) and the Republic of Cabo Verde.