Mariolopoulos Award world map
About us > Awards and prizes


WMO Professor Mariolopoulos Trust Fund Award

2012 award

The WMO Professor Mariolopoulos Trust Fund Award was split between two papers in 2012:

“An Arctic CCN-limited cloud-aerosol regime”
by T. Mauritsen, J. Sedlar, M. Tjernström, C. Leck, M. Martin, M. Shupe, S. Sjogren, B. Sierau, P.O.G. Persson, I.M. Brooks and E. Swietlicki , published in Atmospheric Chemistry and Physics.


“Observed surface warming induced by urbanization in east China”
by X. Yang, Y. Hou and B. Chen, published in the Journal of Geophysical Research.

Mr Geir Braathen, representing the Secretary-General of WMO, provided an introduction to the award. The Ceremony, held in Athens on 29 October, was attended Mr Ioannis Grivas, former Prime Minister of Greece, Professor Barbara Cannon, President of the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences, Professor Stefan Claesson, Vice President of the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences, Ms Marianna Vardinoyannis, UNESCO Goodwill Ambassador, Ms Mette Knudsen, Ambassador of Denmark, Mr Jan Versteeg, Ambassador of the Netherlands, Mr Anders Wijkman, Member of European Parliament, academicians, professors, researchers and many distinguished scientists.

About the Award

The WMO Professor Mariopolous Award recognizes young scientists for exceptional contributions to meteorology and climatology. The award was created in 1996 by the Mariolopoulos-Kanaginis Foundation for the Environmental Sciences, which is in Athens, Greece.

The US$ 2000 award is granted every two years. It recognizes an outstanding research paper in atmospheric sciences published or accepted in a refereed journal by a young scientist (age below 35 years by the date of publication).

The judges are scientists from the World Meteorological Organization, the European Commission (Directorate of Science, Research and Development) and the Mariopoulos-Kanaginis Foundation Board of Trustees. The Secretary-General of WMO is part of the selection committee.

A WMO trust fund was created in 1996 for the award, which is fully financed by the Mariopolous-Kanaginis Foundation.

To apply:

Previous award winners:

Print Friendly and PDF


Related items

2010 Award

© World Meteorological Organization, 7bis, avenue de la Paix, Case postale No. 2300, CH-1211 Geneva 2, Switzerland - Tel.: +41(0)22 730 81 11 - Fax: +41(0)22 730 81 81 Contact us Copyright | Privacy | Scams | Disclaimer |  Guidelines | Procurement | UN System | Accessibility