About us world map
Awards & prizes > Young Scientists

WMO Research Award for Young Scientists

Recent ceremonies


The 63rd session of the WMO Executive Council has conferred the 2011 Research Award for Young Scientists upon Mr Rudi van der Ent from the Netherlands for the paper "Origin and fate of atmospheric moisture over continents," published in Water Resources Research, Vol. 46, W09525, in 2010. The co-authors were R. van der Ent, H.H.G. Savenije, B. Schaefli, and S.C. Steele-Dunne. award
©Roy Borghouts Fotografie
WMO's Deputy Secretary-General, Jeremiah Lengoasa (right), presented the Award to Rudi van der Ent on 7 October 2011 in Delft, the Netherlands.
On 28 October 2008 at the China Meteorological Administration in Beijing, China, the Secretary-General presented the 2008 WMO Research Award to one of the two winners, Yin Sun (China), for her co-authored paper entitled "How often does it rain"? winner
Ying Sun with, from left to right on either side: WMO President, Alexander Bedritskiy, and WMO Secretary-General, Michel Jarraud; far right, Zheng Guoguang, Permanent Representative of China with WMO; far left, Elena Manaenkova, Director, WMO Department of Cabinet and External Relations
On 22 October 2007 in Buenos Aires, Argentina, the Secretary-General presented the 2007 WMO Research Award to one of the two winners, Paola Salio (Argentina) for her paper entitled “Mesoscale convective systems over south-eastern South America and their relationship with the South American low-level jet”. SG & P. Salio
  The Secretary-General with Paola Salio and, in the background, Nilda Garre, Minister of Defence, Argentina
The Secretary-General presented the 2007 WMO Research Award for Young Scientists to the second winner, Gabriëlle De Lannoy (Belgium), for her paper entitled “Assessment of model uncertainty for soil moisture though ensemble verification" in Brussels on 5 November 2007. SG & De Lannoy
  The Secretary-General with Gabriëlle De Lannoy
On 24 October 2007, in Sao Paulo, Brazil, the Secretary-General of WMO, Michel Jarraud, conferred the 2006 Research Award for Young Scientists on Walter Collischonn, who represented his five colleagues: Sidnei Gusmão Agra, Glauco Kimura de Freitas, Gabriela Rocha Priante, Rutinéia Tassi and Christopher Freire Souza. The six Brazilian scientists won the award for their paper: “Searching for an Ecological Hydrograph” (“Em Busca do Hidrograma Ecológico”). winner
  The Secretary-General with (right) Antonio Divino Moura, Director of the National Institute of Meteorology and Permanent Representative of Brazil with WMO and (left) Walter Collischonn, one of the six 2006 prizewinners







© World Meteorological Organization, 7bis, avenue de la Paix, Case postale No. 2300, CH-1211 Geneva 2, Switzerland - Tel.: +41(0)22 730 81 11 - Fax: +41(0)22 730 81 81 Contact us Copyright | Privacy | Scams | Disclaimer |  Guidelines | Procurement | UN System | Accessibility