About us world map
About us > Awards & prizes > Young scientists

Winners of the WMO Research Award for Young Scientists

2013 Flavio Lehner (Switzerland) “The freshwater balance of polar regions in transient simulations from 1500 to 2100 AD using a comprehensive coupled climate model”, published in 2012 in the journal Climate Dynamics.
2012 Yijian Zeng (China) "Numerical analysis of air-water-heat flow in unsaturated soil: Is it necessary to consider airflow in land surface models?” published in the Journal of Geophysical Research (2011).
2011 Rudi van der Ent (Netherlands) "Origin and fate of atmospheric moisture over continents", published in October 2010 issue of Water Resources Research (Vol. 46)
2010 Gabriella Szépszó (Hungary) "Transient simulation of the REMO regional climate model and its evaluation over Hungary", published in December 2008 issue of IDOJARAS Quarterly Journal of the Hungarian Meteorological Service

Juan José Ruiz ( Argentina) "Application of ensemble forecasts to weather prediction at short range over South America", thesis in 2008 for doctorate degree in Atmospheric Science and Oceans of the University of Buenos Aires.
2009 Alex J. Cannon (Canada) "Probabilistic multi-site precipitation downscaling by an expanded Bernoulli-gamma density network", published in December 2008 issue of the Journal of Hydrometeorology
2008 Sun Ying (China) and Mary-Jane Kgatuke (South Africa)
2007 G. De Lannoy (Belgium) and P. Salio (Argentina)
2006 W. Collischonn, S. Gusmao Agra, G. Kimura de Freitas, G. Rocha Priante, R. Tassi and C. Freire Souza (all from Brazil)
2005 Xiao Cunde (China) - N. Zagar (Sweden)
2004 A. Gahein (Egypt) - N. Semane (Morocco)
2003 Zhang Zuqiang (China)
2002 S.K. Satheesh (India)
2001 Xiaohong Liu (China)
2000 C. K. Gatebe (Kenya)
1999 G. Bodeker (New Zealand) and J.A. Aravequia (Brazil)
1998 Zhong Qing (China) and R. E. Treadon (USA)
1997 H.R. da Rocha (Brazil)
1996 C. Appenzeller (Switzerland)
1995 I. Csiszar (Hungary)
1994 Du Jun (China) and R.V. Bekriaev (Russian Federation)
1993 Chong-yu Xu (China)
1992 No award
1991 E.K. Anyamba (Kenya)
1990 A.E. Okeyo (Kenya)
1989 K. Pandzic (Yugoslavia) and M.L. Saah (Cameroon)
1988 S. C. Michaelides (Cyprus)
1987 J.G. Papageorgiou (Greece)
1986 L.C. Quah (Malaysia)
1985 C.A. Sansigolo (Brazil)
1984 R.S. Fouli (Egypt)
1983 Y. Coulibaly (Côte d'Ivoire)
1982 L.J.A.J. Ogallo (Kenya)
1981 S.K. Mishura and P.S. Salvekar (India) (co-authors)
1980 L. Hock (Singapore)
1979 N.B. Katerji (Syrian Arab Republic)
1978 A.L. Alusa (Kenya) and Z.I. Janjic (Yugoslavia)
1977 A.D. Moura (Brazil)
1976 A.K. Kamra (India)
1975 No award
1974 S.M. Misra (India), D.E. Etling (Germany) and A. Quinet (Belgium)
1973 G.W. Partridge (Australia)
1972 A.A. Hassen (Egypt)
1971 No award
1970 F.B.A. Giwa (Nigeria), M. Yamasaki (Japan), P.E. Merilees (Canada) and
F.P. Bretherton (United Kingdom)


Print Friendly and PDF


© World Meteorological Organization, 7bis, avenue de la Paix, Case postale No. 2300, CH-1211 Geneva 2, Switzerland - Tel.: +41(0)22 730 81 11 - Fax: +41(0)22 730 81 81 Contact us Copyright | Privacy | Scams | Disclaimer |  Guidelines | Procurement | UN System | Accessibility