WMO Research Award for Young Scientists world map
About us > Award & prizes

Fifth Congress in 1967 adopted a resolution 12(Cg-V)—Establishment of prizes for outstanding scientific research work in the field of meteorology. Then the Prize was changed name as WMO Research Award for Young Scientists. The Award was first introduced by the Executive Council in 1970 and is granted annually as a means of encouraging young scientists, preferably in developing countries, working in all fields of meteorology and hydrology. They are awarded for outstanding research work. In the past more 30 years, 40 awards have been granted with the winners coming from more than 20 different countries.

The 2006 WMO Research Award for Young Scientists was given to Mr Walter Collischonn, Mr Sidnei Gusmao Agra, Mr Glauco Kimura de Freitas, Ms Gabriela Rocha Priante, Ms Rutinéia Tassi and Mr Christopher Freire Souza (all from Brazil) for their paper "Searching for an Ecological Hydrograph".

The Fourteenth World Meteorological Congress (May 2003) encouraged its Members to continue to support the WMO Research Award for Young Scientists by submission of papers related to atmospheric science and hydrology.

Each year, the Permanent Representative of Member with WMO is requested to nominate of candidates for the award in accordance with the guidelines used for granting the award.

Guidelines to be used for the granting of WMO Research Awards for Young Scientists

1. Purposes
The purpose of the WMO Research Awards is to encourage young scientists, preferable in developing countries, working in the fields of meteorology and hydrology.

2. Criteria for granting awards
(i) Each award shall be made for an outstanding scientific research paper;

(ii) Awards shall be made to young scientists not exceeding the age of 35 at the time of nomination;

(iii) Only one paper should be submitted for each candidate;

(iv) Workers in all fields of meteorology and hydrology will be eligible, but members of the WMO Executive Council may not submit papers authored by themselves for the award;

(v) Awards to nominees from a Region may be divided. The award may also be divided between two co-authors provided that both meet the other criteria for the granting of the award;

(vi) Only papers which have been published in scientific journals will normally be eligible for consideration, however, a summary of a successfully defended PhD thesis would also be acceptable;

(vii) Papers published in languages other than the working languages of WMO will be eligible for consideration if accompanied by full translations in one of the working languages and an extended summary;

(viii) Only papers published during the four-year period immediately preceding the year in which the nomination is made will be eligible for consideration;

(ix) Papers that have previously won international prizes will not be eligible.

3. Method of submission of candidatures
(i) All Permanent Representatives of Members of a WMO regional association will be invited to submit nominations during a specified period in accordance with a schedule established by the Secretary-General. Preference, however, should be given to the nomination of young scientists coming from developing countries who have prepared their work there;

(ii) Nominations, together with four copies of papers in a WMO working language (original or translation) and an adequate summary should be submitted by the Permanent Representatives to the president of the regional association concerned through the WMO Secretariat before a specified time limit;

(iii) The number of nominations submitted by each Permanent Representative should not exceed two.

4. Method of selection
(i) Each president of a regional association should nominate three persons as assessors who should be distinguished scientists normally resident within the Region and who will not be themselves eligible for the awards. The Secretary-General should obtain a list of regional assessors to facilitate this procedure;

(ii) Each assessor should allot a mark to each paper which should be a digit in the range 0 (lowest) to 5 (highest) and submit these evaluations to the president of the regional association. The evaluation should be based on the following: significance of topic, novelty of ideas and methods, value of results and quality of presentation, with equal weight being assigned to each of these sectors. On the basis of the expert’s marks, the president of the regional association will forward to the Secretary-General the name of the candidate receiving the highest aggregate marks (if two candidates tie for top place both nominations may be submitted);

(iii) The final selection of the award winner or winners from among the candidates from all Regions will be made by a Selection Committee of not more than four members of the Executive Council, specially constituted for this purpose at its session immediately following the Congress;

(iv) The nominations submitted by each Region, together with the original papers, will be provided to each member of the Executive Council Selection Committee by the Secretary-General at least two months before a session of the Executive Council;

(v) The Executive Council Selection Committee may not recommend an award if none of the papers submitted is of sufficiently high standard.


The award will consist of a citation and an amount of US $1,000.


The arrangements for the presentation of the award will depend in each case upon the prevailing circumstances and will be decided by consultation between the Permanent Representative who submitted the nomination and the Secretary-General.


1970 F.B.A. Giwa (Nigeria), M. Yamasaki (Japan), P.E. Merilees (Canada) and
F.P. Bretherton (United Kingdom)
1971 No award
1972 A.A. Hassen (Egypt)
1973 G.W. Partridge (Australia)
1973 G.W. Partridge (Australia)
1974 S.M. Misra (India), D.E. Etling (Germany) and A. Quinet (Belgium)
1975 No award
1976 A.K. Kamra (India)
1977 A.D. Moura (Brazil)
1978 A.L. Alusa (Kenya) and Z.I. Janjic (Yugoslavia)
1979 N.B. Katerji (Syrian Arab Republic)
1979 N.B. Katerji (Syrian Arab Republic)
1980 L. Hock (Singapore)
1981 S.K. Mishura and P.S. Salvekar (India) (co-authors)
1982 L.J.A.J. Ogallo (Kenya)
1983 Y. Coulibaly (Côte d'Ivoire)
1984 R.S. Fouli (Egypt)
1985 C.A. Sansigolo (Brazil)
1986 L.C. Quah (Malaysia)
1987 J.G. Papageorgiou (Greece)
1988 Dr Silas Chr. Michaelides (Cyprus)
1989 Mr K. Pandzic (Yugoslavia) and Mr M.L. Saah (Cameroon)
1990 Dr A.E. Okeyo (Kenya)
1991 Dr E.K. Anyamba (Kenya)
1992 No award
1993 Dr Chong-yu Xu (China)
1994 Mr Du Jun (China) and R.V. Bekriaev (Russian Federation)
1995 Mr I. Csiszar (Hungary)
1996 Dr Christof Appenzeller (Switzerland)
1997 Mr H.R. da Rocha (Brazil)
1998 Mr Zhong Qing (China) and Dr Russel E. Treadon (USA)
1999 Dr Gregory Bodeker (New Zealand) and Mr J.A. Aravequia (Brazil)
2000 Dr Charles K. Gatebe (Kenya)
2001 Dr Xiaohong Liu (China)
2002 Dr S.K. Satheesh (India)
2002 Dr S.K. Satheesh (India)
2003 Dr Zhang Zuqiang (China)
2004 Mr A. Gahein (Egypt) - Mr N. Semane (Morocco)
2005 Dr Xiao Cunde (China) - Dr Nedjeljka Zagar (Sweden)
2006 Mr Walter Collischonn, Mr Sidnei Gusmao Agra, Mr Glauco Kimura de Freitas, Ms Gabriela Rocha Priante, Ms Rutinéia Tassi and Mr Christopher Freire Souza (all from Brazil)

Print Friendly and PDF



© World Meteorological Organization, 7bis, avenue de la Paix, Case postale No. 2300, CH-1211 Geneva 2, Switzerland - Tel.: +41(0)22 730 81 11 - Fax: +41(0)22 730 81 81 Contact us Copyright | Privacy | Scams | Disclaimer |  Guidelines | Procurement | UN System | Accessibility