Governance world map
Governance >

The Secretariat

The WMO Secretariat has its Headquarters in Geneva. Regional offices are located in Geneva; field offices are located in various WMO Regions and there are two liaison offices in New York and Brussels. The Secretariat is headed by the Secretary-General, who is appointed by Congress and serves a four-year term with a maximum tenure of 12 years. (Resolution 36, Thirteenth Congress (2003)). The Secretary-General has the responsibility to appoint all Secretariat staff, including the Deputy Secretary-General and the Assistant Secretary-General, in accordance with regulations established by Congress and with the approval of the Executive Council.

The Fifteenth World Meteorological Congress approved a new framework for the Result-based Management of the Organization. This includes the implementation from 2008 of the Strategic Plan which defines three Top Level Objectives, five Strategic Thrusts and eleven Organization-wide Expected Results. The Operating Plan and the Result-based Budget for the period 2008-2011 direct the programmatic implementation activities of the Organization. The Executive Council set its subsidiary structure in line with Strategic Thrusts.

The Secretariat structure has been reviewed as a part of the process that will lead to a consistent implementation of Result-based Management and took effect on 1 January 2008.


The new structure consists of the following principal organization entities

The Executive Office comprises the Secretary-General, Deputy Secretary-General and Assistant Secretary-General. The Secretary-General is responsible for the overall technical and administrative work of the Secretariat. The Secretary-General manages his role by delegating substantive authority to the Deputy Secretary-General and the Assistant Secretary-General in matters related to programme management, policy, and advocacy, overall supervisory, legal and executive functions.


Entities under direct supervision of the Secretary-General

  • Cabinet and External Relations Department (cabinet functions, external relations, New York and Brussels liason offices, and communication and public affairs)
  • Resource Management Department (budget, finance, human resource management and information technology support)
  • Oversight Office
  • Secretary-General's office (including Legal Counsel)


Entities under supervision of the Deputy Secretary-General


Entities under supervision of the Assistant Secretary-General








Print Friendly and PDF


© World Meteorological Organization, 7bis, avenue de la Paix, Case postale No. 2300, CH-1211 Geneva 2, Switzerland - Tel.: +41(0)22 730 81 11 - Fax: +41(0)22 730 81 81 Contact us Copyright | Privacy | Scams | Disclaimer |  Guidelines | Procurement | UN System | Accessibility