معلومات عنا
world map
About WMO >

 

مكتب الأمين العام

الأمين العام للمنظمة العالمية للأرصاد الجوية

يضطلع الأمين العام للمنظمة العالمية للأرصاد الجوية (WMO) بدوره من خلال تفويض نائب الأمين العام والأمين العام المساعد جزءاً كبيراً من سلطته في المسائل المتعلقة بإدارة البرامج والسياسات وحشد الدعم والإشراف العام والمهام القانونية والتنفيذية.

تعيين الأمين العام

يُعين المؤتمر العالمي، وهو أعلى هيئة في المنظمة، الأمين العام لولاية مدتها أربع سنوات. وطبقاً لقرار المؤتمر العالمي الثالث عشر للأرصاد الجوية (القرار 36 )، يمكن للأمين العام أن يخدم ثلاث ولايات، كحد أقصى، مدة كل ولاية أربع سنوات. ويخضع تعيين الأمين العام لإجراءات صارمة تنص عليها اتفاقية المنظمة العالمية للأرصاد الجوية واللائحة العامة. ويتقلد السيد ميشيل جارو (فرنسا) منصب الأمين العام للمنظمة العالمية للأرصاد الجوية منذ 1 كانون الثاني/ يناير 2004 .

مهام الأمين العام ودوره

يتولى الأمين العام المسؤولية عن جميع الأعمال الفنية والإدارية في الأمانة، وهذا يتضمن تشجيع أعضاء المنظمة العالمية للأرصاد الجوية على الامتثال للقرارات الصادرة عنها؛ وإقامة اتصالات مع رئيس المنظمة العالمية للأرصاد الجوية، ونواب الرئيس، ورؤساء اللجان الفنية والاتحادات الإقليمية، والدول والأقاليم الأعضاء، والمنظمات الدولية؛ وتمثيل المنظمة العالمية للأرصاد الجوية عند التفاوض مع هذه السلطات؛ وتعيين ممثلين عنه في الهيئات الفرعية للمنظمة العالمية للأرصاد الجوية وفي الهيئات الفرعية للمنظمات الأخرى؛ وحضور اجتماعات تلك الهيئات أو إصدار توجيهات لممثليه فيها؛ وتوجيه الاتصالات بين المنظمة العالمية للأرصاد الجوية وأعضائها وبين الهيئات التأسيسية والمنظمات الأخرى أو الهيئات التأسيسية الأخرى؛ وإبقاء رؤساء الهيئات التأسيسية على علم بأنشطة وتوصيات الهيئات التأسيسية الأخرى والمنظمات الدولية الأخرى ذات الصلة بمجالات عملها.

ويدعم مهام التنظيم والإدارة التي يضطلع بها الأمين العام اللجنة الإدارة التنفيذية التي تضم جميع المديرين، والجهاز الإداري الذي يتناول المسائل الإدارية واللجان التوجيهية الداخلية التي تتناول مواضيع خاصة، والمجالس الاستشارية، وفرق التنسيق، وأفرقة العمل التي تتناول المسائل الشاملة البرنامجية والمستجدة. وتتضمن اللجان والمجالس المعنية بمواضيع معينة: مجلس المطبوعات، ومجلس الاتصال، ولجنة المشتريات والعقود، ولجنة المنح الدراسية، واللجنة الاستشارية لاستراتيجية نظم المعلومات، واللجنة التوجيهية المعنية بالأنشطة المناخية، واللجنة التوجيهية المعنية بنظام الرصد المتكامل، واللجنة التوجيهية المعنية بالحد من الكوارث، واللجنة التوجيهية المعنية بالمسائل المتعلقة بالمياه، واللجنة التوجيهية المعنية بالسنة القطبية الدولية 2008-2007 .

ويقيم الأمين العام اتصالات رفيعة المستوى في إطار منظومة الأمم المتحدة من خلال قنوات، ولاسيما مجلس الرؤساء التنفيذيين لمنظومة الأمم المتحدة المعني بالتنسيق. كما يقيم اتصالات مع البعثات الدائمة، والرؤساء التنفيذيين للمنظمات الحكومية الدولية وللشركاء الإنمائيين غير الحكوميين، وواضعي السياسات ومتخذي القرارات على أعلى المستويات الوطنية.

 

top

 

© World Meteorological Organization, 7bis, avenue de la Paix, Case postale 2300, CH-1211 Geneva 2, Switzerland
حقوق الطبع سياسة حماية الخصوصية | محاولات الاحتيال | إعلان عدم المسؤولية | مبادئ توجيهية | أنشطة الاش | منظومة الأمم المتحدة | إمكانية النفاذ

About us world map
About us >

Office of the Secretary-General

The Secretary-General of WMO

The Secretary-General of WMO manages his role by delegating substantive authority to the Deputy Secretary-General and the Assistant Secretary-General in matters related to programme management, policy, advocacy, overall supervisory, legal and executive functions.

Appointment of the Secretary-General
The Secretary-General is appointed by Congress, the supreme body of the Organization, for a four-year term. Following the decision of Thirteenth World Meteorological Congress (Resolution No. 36), a Secretary-General can serve a maximum of three four-year terms. The appointment of the Secretary-General is governed by a strict procedure which is sipulated in the WMO Covention and General Regulations. Since 1 January 2004, Mr Michel Jarraud (France) has been the Secretary-General of the World Meteorological Organization.

Duties and role of the Secretary-General
The Secretary-General is responsible for the overall technical and administrative work of the Secretariat. This includes promoting compliance of WMO Members with the decisions of the Organization; liaising with the WMO President and Vice-Presidents, presidents of technical commissions and regional associations, Member States and Territories and international organizations; representing WMO when negotiating with these authorities; nominating WMO representatives on WMO subsidiary bodies and on those of other organizations; attending their meetings or issuing guidance to his representative; channeling communications between WMO and its Members and between constituent bodies and other organizations or other constituent bodies; and maintaining the presidents of constituent bodies advised of the activities and recommendations of other constituent bodies and of other international organizations pertaining to their field of work.

The Secretary-General's managerial and administrative functions are supported through the Executive Management Committee, comprising all Directors, administrative machinery dealing with administrative issues and special internal thematic steering committees, advisory boards, coordination groups and task teams dealing with cross-cutting programmatic and emerging issues. Thematic committees and boards include: the Publications Board, Communication Board, Procurement and Contracts Committee, Fellowships Committee, Information Systems Strategy Advisory Committee, Steering Committee on Climate Activities, Steering Committee on Integrated Observing System, Steering Committee on Disaster Reduction, Steering Committee on Water-related Issues and the Steering Committee on the International Polar Year 2007-2008.

The Secretary-General maintains high-level contacts within the United Nations system through, in particular, the United Nations System Chief Executives Board for Coordination. He also mainatins contact with the permanent missions, the executive heads of intergovernmental organizations and non-governmental development partners, and the highest policy- and decision-makers at the national level.

 

top
Top

line

© World Meteorological Organization, 7bis, avenue de la Paix, Case postale No. 2300, CH-1211 Geneva 2, Switzerland - Tel.: +41(0)22 730 81 11 - Fax: +41(0)22 730 81 81 Contact us Copyright | Privacy | Scams | Disclaimer |  Guidelines | Procurement | UN System | Accessibility