Media centre world map
Media centre

IMO Prize and other awards

IMO Prize

qin daheThe Executive Council has conferred the 53rd IMO Prize, the Organization’s most prestigious award, to Qin Dahe (China).

Mr Qin, former Adminstrator of the  China Meteorological Administration and Permanent Representative of China with WMO, is currently co-Chair of the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change Working Group I



2008 WMO Research Award for Young Scientists

The Executive Council has awarded the 2008 WMO Research Award for Young Scientists to Sun Ying  (China) for her paper “How often does it rain?”; and

Mary-Jane Kgatuke (South Africa) for her paper “The internal variability of the RegCM3 over South Africa”.


Norbert Gerbier-MUMM International Award 2009

The Executive Council conferred the 2009 Norbert Gerbier-MUMM International Award on K. Krishna Kumar, Balaji Rajagopalan, Martin Hoerling, Gary Bates and Mark Cane for their paper entitled “Unraveling the Mystery of Indian Monsoon Failure during El Niño” published in Science in October 2006 (Volume 314, pages 115 to 118).


Professor Dr Vilho Väisälä Awards 2008

The Executive Council conferred Professor Dr Vilho Väisälä Awards upon recognition of research on instruments and methods of observation. One Award went to MM O. Bousquet, P. Tabary and J.P. du Châtelet (all from France) for their paper entitled “On the value of operationally synthesized multiple-Doppler wind fields” published in the Geophysical Research Letters, Vol. 34, 2007. MM L Lanza (Italy), M. Leroy (France), C. Alexandropoulos (France), L. Stagi (Italy) and W. Wauben (The Netherlands) received the Award for their paper entitled “WMO Laboratory Intercomparison of Rainfall Intensity Gauges” published in IOM Report No. 84, WMO/TD No. 1304, 2006.










© World Meteorological Organization, 7bis, avenue de la Paix, Case postale No. 2300, CH-1211 Geneva 2, Switzerland - Tel.: +41(0)22 730 81 11 - Fax: +41(0)22 730 81 81 Contact us Copyright | Privacy | Scams | Disclaimer |  Guidelines | Procurement | UN System | Accessibility