Media centre world map
Media centre > Press releases

Press Release No. 783

For use of the information media
Not an official record


Dr Alexander Bedritskiy re-elected as WMO President

Geneva, 17 May 2007 (WMO) – The Fifteenth Congress of the World Meteorological Organization (WMO) has unanimously re-elected Dr Alexander Bedritskiy as President of the United Nation’s specialized agency.

Dr Bedritskiy, the only candidate nominated for the post, will serve a second four-year term.

“Now more than ever, the challenges of the 21st century, such as sustainable development and the environment, need a spirit of cooperation and mutual understanding between cultures and nations – this spirit lies at the very heart of WMO and the international meteorological society,” Dr Bedritskiy said.

“WMO has realized some considerable achievements in the past but we now face serious issues related to climate phenomena and never before has so much public hope been placed on the use of information on weather, climate and water as well as measures of adaptation and mitigation.”

“Over the next four years the organization will have to address these and other related tasks while committing itself to extending its scientific potential and strengthening National Meteorological and Hydrological Services.”

“We will also endeavor to broaden the role of WMO in the United Nations and work closely with the private sector,” he added.

The WMO President presides over the sessions of Congress and the Executive Council and also guides and coordinates the activities of the Organization and its various bodies.

First WMO Vice-President, Dr Ali Mohammad Noorian (Islamic Republic of Iran) and Second WMO Vice President, Mr Tyrone Sutherland (British Caribbean Territories) were also unanimously re-elected for a second term.

The vacant post of Third Vice-President was put to a vote – for the first time WMO employed an electronic system for the procedure – and Brazilian Dr Antonio Divino Moura was elected.

Short biographies of WMO President and Vice-Presidents

Dr Alexander Bedritskiy – For the past 14 years, Alexander Bedritskiy has served as Head of the Russian Federal Service for Hydrometeorology and Environmental Monitoring (Roshydromet) with the overall responsibility for the development of the operational and scientific entities of Roshydromet. During his 38-year career in the field of hydrometeorology, Dr Bedritskiy has held various positions including that of senior engineer of a computer centre. Since 1978, he has been energetically involved in the activities of WMO and other international organizations including the Conference of Parties to the United Nations Framework Convention on Climate Change. He has been the Permanent Representative of the Russian Federation with WMO since May 1993.

Dr Ali Mohammad Noorian – Ali Mohammad Noorian has been President of the Islamic Republic of Iran Meteorology Organization and Permanent Representative of the Islamic Republic of Iran with WMO since 1981. For many years he was also President of the Iranian Civil Aviation Organization. In 1991, he was elected as a member of the WMO Executive Council and Second Vice-President of the Organization in 1997. He has been actively involved in the WMO Bureau and has chaired numerous sessions of the Advisory Groups of the Executive Council, meetings of the presidents of WMO technical commissions and working committees of the WMO Congress.

Mr Tyrone Sutherland – Tyrone Sutherland has been Permanent Representative of the British Caribbean Territories with WMO since 1999. He is Coordinating Director of the Trinidad-based Caribbean Meteorological Organization (CMO). CMO is the specialized CARICOM agency that coordinates the joint scientific and technical activities in weather-, climate- and water-related sciences in 16 English-speaking Caribbean countries. Mr Sutherland was Head of the St. Lucia Meteorological Service until the early 1980s. He then served the Canadian Weather Service for 10 years as a senior meteorologist and severe storms specialist. In 1992, he joined the WMO Secretariat in Geneva as a Scientific Officer in the Tropical Cyclone Programme and was subsequently appointed Executive Assistant to the Secretary-General.

Dr Antonio Divino Moura – Antonio Divino Moura is Director of the Meteorological Institute of Brazil (INMET). He was also the founding Director General of the International Research Institute for Climate and Society at Columbia University (1996-2002); and researcher and Professor in Meteorology at the Brazilian Space Research Institute and the University of São Paulo. His postdoctoral work at NASA Goddard with Professor Jagadish Shukla in 1980 concerning recurrent droughts in north-east Brazil provides the basis for current prediction methodology of droughts. Dr Moura also played a major role as Chairman of the Tropical Ocean Global Atmosphere board in the research and prediction of El Nino and is a past winner of the Rossby Award at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology where he obtained his Ph.D.


WMO is the United Nations’ authoritative voice on weather, climate and water
For more information please contact:
Ms Carine Richard-Van Maele, Chief, Communications and Public Affairs, WMO.
Tel: +41 (0)22 730 83 15.
Mr Mark Oliver, Press Officer, Communications and Public Affairs Office, World Meteorological Organization. Tel: +41 (0)22 730 84 17.




© World Meteorological Organization, 7bis, avenue de la Paix, Case postale No. 2300, CH-1211 Geneva 2, Switzerland - Tel.: +41(0)22 730 81 11 - Fax: +41(0)22 730 81 81 Contact us Copyright | Privacy | Scams | Disclaimer |  Guidelines | Procurement | UN System | Accessibility