Programmes >

 

mjo_model

 

 

 

WGNE MJO
Task Force

 

mjo_picture

 

Mission/Introduction

The Madden-Julian Oscillation (MJO) Task Force (hereafter MJO-TF) has the goal to facilitate improvements in the representation of the MJO in weather and climate models in order to increase the predictive skill of the MJO and related weather and climate phenomena.

The MJO-TF was initially formed in 2010 under the banner of the Year of Tropical Convection (YOTC) activity following the earlier success of the US CLIVAR MJO Working Group (from 2006-2009). Successes were achieved in making a set of MJO simulation diagnostics as well as in the establishment of an activity to monitor and compare MJO forecasts in real time. At the beginning of 2013 the MJO-TF was reformulated again as the WGNE MJO Task Force with the replacement of five members and the injection of new ideas.

 

News

The MJO Task Force was reformulated as the WGNE MJO Task Force at the beginning of 2013

 

Projects and activities

 

 

 

 

Past meetings, presentations and minutes


Minutes for teleconf of the MJO-TF on 27 June 2013

Singapore workshop on MJO Diabatic Processes (3-5 June 2013)

Minutes of the first teleconference on 28 March 2013

Membership list (as of 2013)

 

  • Eric Maloney, Co-chair, Colorado State University
       e-mail: emaloney@atmos.colostate.edu
  • Steve Woolnough, Co-chair, Uni. of Reading
       e-mail: s.j.woolnough@reading.ac.uk
  • Charlotte DeMott, CMMAP/CSU
       e-mail: demott@atmos.colostate.edu
  • Jon Gottschalck, NOAA/NCEP
       e-mail: jon.gottschalck@noaa.gov
  • Daehyun Kim, University of Washington
       e-mail: daehyun@atmos.washington.edu
  • Nicholas Klingaman, University of Reading
       e-mail: n.p.klingaman@reading.ac.uk
  • Tieh-Yong Koh, Nanyang Technological University
        e-mail: kohty@ntu.edu.sg
  • June-Yi Lee, Pusan National University
       e-mail: juneyi@pusan.ac.kr
  • Adrian Matthews, University of East Anglia
    e-mail: a.j.matthews@uea.ac.uk
  • Tomoki Miyakawa, AORI/ University of Tokyo
       e-mail: miyakawa@aori.u-tokyo.ac.jp
  • Richard Neale, NCAR
       e-mail: rneale@ucar.edu
  • Camille Risi, Lab de Meteorologie Dynamique
       e-mail: camille.risi@lmd.jussieu.fr
  • Ken Sperber, PCMDI
       e-mail: sperber1@llnl.gov
  • Matthew Wheeler, CAWCR
       e-mail:  m.wheeler@bom.gov.au
  • Prince Xavier, UK Met Office
       e-mail: prince.xavier@metoffice.gov.uk


 

 
top
Top

line

WWRP

 

 

YOTC page

 

WGNE page

 

WCRP page

 

WWRP page

 


 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 


 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 


 
© World Meteorological Organization, 7bis, avenue de la Paix, Case postale No. 2300, CH-1211 Geneva 2, Switzerland - Tel.: +41(0)22 730 81 11 - Fax: +41(0)22 730 81 81 Contact us Copyright | Privacy | Scams | Disclaimer |  Guidelines | Procurement | UN System | Accessibility