World Weather Research Programme (WWRP)
Programmes > > WWRP >

 

hiw

 


High Impact Weather Project
(HIWeather)

 

wwrp_logo

 

 

Mission

To promote cooperative international research to achieve a dramatic increase in resilience to high impact weather, worldwide, through improving forecasts for timescales of minutes to two weeks and enhancing their communication and utility in social, economic and environmental applications

News

2017

HIWeather postcard

Newsletter

 

Research Themes

International Coordination Office


Steering Group Members

Co-chair:  Brian Golding, Met Office, UK
e-mail: brian.golding@metoffice.gov.uk

Co-chair: David Johnston, University of New Zealand
e-mail: david.johnston@gns.cri.nz

George Craig, LMU, Germany, lead of the Predictability and Processes Theme
e-mail: george.craig@lmu.de

Beth Ebert, BoM, Australia, lead of the Evaluation Theme
e-mail: e.ebert@bom.gov.au

Brian Mills, Environment Canada, lead of the Vulnerability and Risk Theme
e-mail:bmills@uwaterloo.ca

Shannon Panchuk, BoM, Australia
email: s.panchuk@bom.gov.au

Sally Potter, GNS Science, New Zealand
email: s.potter@gns.cri.nz

Jenny Sun, USA, lead of the Multiscale Forecasting Theme
e-mail: sunj@ucar.edu

 

Past meetings and presentations

2016

High Impact Weather (HIWeather) Project Kick off meeting
(EXETER, UK, 27-29 April)

2015

 


2014

 

 

 




top
Top

line

©2016 World Meteorological Organization, 7bis, avenue de la Paix, CP No. 2300, CH-1211 Geneva 2, Switzerland - Tel.: +41(0)22 730 81 11 - Fax: +41(0)22 730 81 81Disclaimer | UN System | Accessibility

 

Extranet Homepage Website Public Comms