World Weather Research Programme
Programmes > AREP>WWRP

 

wwrp

 

Nowcasting Research

Mission of the Working Group on Nowcasting

To advance the science of nowcasting, including meteorological processes and predictability;

To promote and aid the implementation of nowcasting in the WWRP framework and within NMHSs and among their end-users, including the potential use of numerical modelling and assimilation of very high resolution data.

To develop and implement RDPs and FDPs to advance the underlying science as well as to develop, compare, validate and exchange various nowcasting techniques, and to involve the operational evaluation outcomes.

 

photo keenan

 

Chairperson: Dr Tom KEENAN
(Australia)

sp

Recent Activities

  • Forecast Demonstration Projects
  • Beijing 2008 FDP
  • Vancouver 2010 FDP/RDP
  • WWRP-PWS Nowcasting Link Activities
  • WWRP/CIMO/GEWEX Radar Quality Control
  • Quantitative Precipitation Forecasting (QPE) Intercomparison Project
  • NWG Capacity Building
  • 3rd WWRP Nowcasting Workshop 2005
  • EUMETCAL August 2006
  • Australia, Palm Cove Training Workshop 2007
  • 2nd Latin America Training Workshop 2007
    Nowcasting and Very Short Range Weather Forecasting (WSN09) Symposium (proposed - Canada Summer 2009)
  • Testbed Issues
  • WGN Meeting

Contact:

Dr L. Barrie
Director
Atmospheric Research and Environment Programme Department
Tel: + 41 22 730 8212
Fax: + 41 22 730 80 49
e-mail: LBarrie@wmo.int

Dr N. Lomarda
Senior Scientific Officer
Tropical Meteorology Research
Tel: + 41 22 730 8384
Fax: 41 22 730 8049
e-mail: NLomarda@wmo.int

sp

Working Group Members

  • Chair: T. Keenan, Australia
    e-mail: t.keenan@bom.gov.au
  • S. Senesi, France
    e-mail: senesi@meteo.fr
  • Sugiera Loori, Japan
    e-mail: sugiura@met.kishou.go.jp
  • Jim Wilson, USA
    e-mail: jwilson@ucar.edu
  • Paul Joe, Canada
    e-mail: paul.joe@ec.gc.ca
  • Jenny Sun, USA
    e-mail: sunj@ucar.edu
  • J. Koistinen, Finland
    e-mail: jarmo.koistinen@fmi.fi
  • St Lai
    e-mail: stlai@hko.gov.hk
  • A. Pereira, Brazil
    e-mail: apereira@model.iag.usp.br
  • C. Collier, United Kingdom
    e-mail: c.g.collier@salford.ac.uk
  • I. Zawadzki, Canada
    e-mail: isztar.zawadzki@mcgill.ca
  • S. Goodman, USA
    e-mail: steven.goodman@nasa.gov

Publications

Lectures of the WWRP Nowcasting Training Workshop (Pretoria, South Africa, 28 November - 5 December 2005)

sp
 




top
Top

line

AREP

GURME

GAWSIS

World Data Centres

THORPEX

Tropical Meteorology

Weather Modification

Mesoscale Weather Forecasting

Nowcasting

Verification

Societal and Economic Applications

THORPEX-TIGGE

GAW Reports

WWRP Reports

WWRP-THORPEX Reports

Ozone Bulletins

Greenhouse Gas Bulletin

Glossary on QA/QC terms


 

©2017
World Meteorological Organization, 7bis, avenue de la Paix, CP No. 2300, CH-1211 Geneva 2, Switzerland - Tel.: +41(0)22 730 81 11 - Fax: +41(0)22 730 81 81
Disclaimer | UN System | Accessibility

 

Extranet Homepage Website Public Comms