Regional cooperation and development activities
Programmes > DRA > Regional Office for Asia and Pacific > Region II

Region II (Asia)

The Asia Region covers a vast expanse of the Indian Ocean and part of the Pacific Ocean and contains a large and diverse range of ecosystems, including deserts, forests, rivers, lakes and seas. The desert extends from east to west, encompassing Central and western Asia. It has two of the world's most populated countries, China and India and also includes eight Least Developed Countries. Compared to other WMO Regions, the Asia Region includes the highest mountains, the rainiest areas and the driest deserts, with their associated variation in culture and biodiversity. 

The major challenges to the development of this region include mitigation of natural and environmental disasters, climate change and variability, water management, water resources management, land use and land degradation, energy availability, poverty alleviation and conservation of biodiversity. Weather, climate and water observations are required to address these issues, which are of relevance for the present social and economic development as well as for that of future generations.



President Vice-President Regional Hydrological Adviser
Mr Ahmed ABDULLA MOHAMMED (Qatar) Mr Arif MAHMOOD RANA (Pakistan) Dr Sung KIM (Republic of Korea)
Member Permanent Representative Hydrological Adviser
Afghanistan Mr Mohammad Nasim SAMIM  
Bahrain Mr Adel Tarrar Mohammed DAHAM Dr Waleed Khalil ZUBARI
Bangladesh Mr Md. Shah ALAM Mr Md. Mosaddeque HOSSAIN
Bhutan Mr Karma TSERING  
Cambodia H.E. Mr LIM Kean Hor  
China Dr ZHENG Guoguang Dr ZHANG Jian-Yun
Democratic People's Republic of Korea Mr KIM Tae Gon  
Hong Kong, China Mr Chi-ming SHUN Dr LEE Tsz-cheung
India Dr Laxman Singh RATHORE Dr D.V. THAREJA
Islamic Republic of Iran Dr Davood S. PARHIZKAR H.E. Mr M.R. ATTARZADEH
Iraq Dr Dawood S. MAHMOOD Mr Hussain Ali FAHAD
Japan Mr Noritake NISHIDE Mr Toshiyuki ADACHI
Kazakhstan Mr Aibek MENDIGARIN  
Kuwait Mr Mohammad Karam ALI Mr Osama M. ALMETHEN
Kyrgyzstan Mr Zarylbek ITIBAEV Ms Gulnara JUNUSHOVA
Lao People's Democratic Republic Mr Sithanh SOUTHICHACK Mr Bounseuk INTHAPATHA
Macao, China Dr FONG Soi Kun  
Maldives Mr Abdullahi MAJEED  
Mongolia Mr Donio TSOGT-OCHIR Mr Gombo DAVAA
Myanmar Dr Hrin Nei THIAM  
Nepal Mr Rishi Ram SHARMA Mr Gautam RAJKARNIKAR
Oman Dr Juma bin Said bin Ahmed AL-MASKARI  
Pakistan Dr Ghulam RASUL  
Republic of Korea Mr KO Yunhwa Mr KIM Heong-Ryeol
Russian Federation Dr Alexander V. FROLOV  
Saudi Arabia Dr Ayman Salem GHULAM Mr Ali hemed ALBATHI
Sri Lanka Mr Lalith CHANDRAPALA Eng. U. Sarath WIJESEKARA
Tajikistan The Permanent Representative of Tajikistan with WMO  
Thailand Mr Wanchai SAKUDOMACHAI Ms Chongkolnee YUSABYE
Turkmenistan Mr Batyr HALLYYEV  
United Arab Emirates Mr Abdullah Ahmed AL MANDOOS Lt.Col. Abdulla H.AL MANGOOSHI Ali
Uzbekistan Prof. Victor E. CHUB Dr Sergey V. MYAGKOV
Viet Nam Mr NGUYEN Linh Ngoc  
Yemen Dr Abdo Ahmed ALMAKALEH  


... (more)




World Meteorological Organization, 7bis, avenue de la Paix, CP No. 2300, CH-1211 Geneva 2, Switzerland - Tel.: +41(0)22 730 81 11 - Fax: +41(0)22 730 81 81
Disclaimer | UN System | Accessibility


Extranet Homepage Website Public Comms