Disaster Risk Reduction (DRR) Programme world map
Programmes > DRR >

2016 (3rd) Meeting of the WMO Disaster Risk Reduction Focal Points of Regional Associations, Technical Commissions and Programmes

14-16 December 2016, WMO Headquarters, Geneva, Switzerland

Press Room

Last update on: 20 December 2016

Doc No. Documents Format
  Final report (to come)  

Doc 1

Agenda (as of 16 December 2016) pdf

Doc 2

Participant list (as of 16 December 2016, web edition) pdf

Doc 3

Terms of Reference (ToR) of the DRR RA-TC-TP (to come)  

Doc 4

Current Governance and Implementation Mechanisms for the WMO Disaster Risk Reduction Programme (to come)  


DRR sections of Cg-16 and Cg-17 and EC-64 to EC-68 reports zip
Presentations from the sessions
Session 1: Opening and Introduction
  Objectives, structure, document list and working arrangements of the meeting – Alasdair Hainsworth, Chief, Disaster Risk Reduction (DRR) Services Division (WMO) pdf
Session 2: Background
  Outcomes of the 68th session of the WMO Executive Council (EC-68) related to Disaster Risk Reduction - Alasdair Hainsworth pdf
  Review of the outcomes of the 2015 (2nd) Coordination Meeting of the WMO DRR FP RA-TC-TP, 3-5 November 2015 - Alasdair Hainsworth pdf
  Status of the WMO DRR Roadmap and and Outlook for Developing its Implementation Plan – Jochen Luther, Junior Professional Officer, DRR Services Division (WMO) pdf
  Approach to and progress with the implementation of Resolution 9 (Cg-17) Identifiers for Cataloguing Extreme Weather, Water and Climate Events - Alasdair Hainsworth pdf
Session 3: DRR-related Mandates and Relevant Activities and Projects of WMO Regional Associations, Technical Commissions and Programmes
  Commission for Basic Systems (CBS): Role of CBS in Supporting
Humanitarian Agencies Fred Branski, International Affairs Office,U.S. National Weather Service, USA (Co-chairperson and DRR Focal Point of CBS)

  Commission for Hydrology (CHy) – Johnson Muturi Maina, Kenya Meteorological Department & Yuri Simonov, Senior Researcher, Hydrological Forecasts Department, Hydrometeorological Centre of Russia, Russian Federation (DRR Focal Points of CHy) pdf
  Commission for Instruments and Methods of Observation (CIMO) – Jitze Van der Meule, Senior Adviser Weather Service, Royal Netherlands Meteorological Institute (KNMI), The Netherlands (DRR Focal Point of CIMO) pdf
  Joint WMO-IOC Commission for Oceanography and Marine Meteorology (JCOMM) – Kevin Horsburgh, Head Institute for Sustainable Coasts and Oceans and Chair of IOC/WMO JCOMM Expert Team on Waves and Coastal Hazard (ETWCH) Forecasting, National Oceanography Centre, United Kingdom (Co-chairperson and DRR Focal Point of JCOMM) pdf
  Commission for Aeronautical Meteorology (CAeM) – Dimitar Ivanov, Chief Aeronautical Meteorology (AEM) Division (WMO) on behalf of Ian Lisk, Head of Natural Hazards, Met Office, United Kingdom (DRR Focal Point of CAeM)
  Commission for Atmospheric Sciences (CAS) – Paul Kovacs, Institute for Catastrophic Loss Reduction (ICLR), Canada (DRR Focal Point of CAS) pdf
  World Weather Research Programme (WWRP) – Paolo Ruti, World Weather Research (WWR) Division (WMO) pdf
  World Climate Research Programme (WCRP) – Boram Lee, Senior Scientific Officer, World Climate Research Programme (WCRP) Division (WMO) on behalf of Simon Mason, International Research Institute for Climate & Society (IRI), USA (DRR Focal Point of WCRP) pdf
  Commission for Climatology (CCl) – Sezin Tokar, Senior Hydrological Advisor, Office of U.S. Foreign Disaster Assistance (USAID), USA (DRR Focal Point of CCl) pdf
  Building Drought Resilience to Reduce Poverty: Integrated Drought Management Programme (IDMP) – Robert Stefanski, Chief Agricultural Meteorology Division (AgM) Division (WMO)

Integrated Flood Management: Associated Programme on Flood Management (APFM) – Robert Stefanski, Chief Agricultural Meteorology (AgM) Division (WMO)
  Group on Earth Observations (GEO) Vanessa Aellen
Technical Expert for Water, GEO Secretariat, Switzerland
  RA I – Richard Philippe, Director Direction de la météorologie nationale and Permanent Representative of Cameroon with WMO, Cameroon (DRR Focal Point for RA I - Africa)

  RA II – K.J. Ramesh (Ramesh Kanduri Jayaram), Director General of Meteorology, India Meteorological Department (IMD), Ministry of Earth Sciences, India (DRR Focal Point for RA II - Asia) pdf
  RA III – Carlos Frederico Angelis, General-Coordination for Operations and Modelling, Centro Nacional de Monitoramento e Alertas de Desastres Naturais (Cemaden), Secretariat of Policies and Programs in Research and Development, Ministry of Science, Technology and Innovation, Brazil (DRR Focal Point for RA III - South America) pdf
  RA IV – Albert A.E. Martis, Director Meteorological Department Curaçao and Permanent Representative of of Curaçao & St. Maarten with WMO, Curaçao & St. Maarten (DRR Focal Point for RA IV - North America, Central America and the Caribbean) pdf
  RA V – Dodo Gunawan, Center for Climate Change and Air Quality, Meteorological, Climatological and Geophysical Agency (BMKG), Indonesia (DRR Focal Point for RA V - South-West Pacific) pdf
  RA VI - Karolin Eichler on behalf of Axel Thomalla, Office of the President and International Affairs, Deutscher Wetterdienst (DWD), Germany (DRR Focal Point for RA VI - Europe) pdf
Sessions 5: Review of the Draft Summary from Sessions 3 and 4 and Recommendations of the 2016 DRR FP RA-TC-TP meeting
  Summary and recommendations (to come)  





World Meteorological Organization, 7bis, avenue de la Paix, CP No. 2300, CH-1211 Geneva 2, Switzerland - Tel.: +41(0)22 730 81 11 - Fax: +41(0)22 730 81 81
Disclaimer | UN System | Accessibility


   Extranet Homepage Website Public Comms