News  Contact  Publications  Calendar  Site map

CBS Lead Centres for GCOS

CBS Lead Centres for GCOS have been designated by the World Meteorological Organization (WMO) Commission for Basic Systems (CBS) as being responsible for monitoring performance of GCOS networks, in particular of the GCOS Surface and Upper Air Networks (GSN, GUAN), and to support any follow-up action in designated areas of responsibility (for all WMO Regional Associations).

Terms of Reference of the CBS Lead Centres for GCOS are:

  1. Diagnose problems in the GSN and GUAN by using the monitoring reports produced by the GCOS Monitoring and Analysis Centres;
  2. Liaise with nominated National Focal Points for GCOS and related Climatological Data, and other responsible officials, to improve data and meta data availability and quality;
  3. Co-ordinate activities with other GCOS centres and/or other centres as appropriate;
  4. Monitor and report to CBS and GCOS on actions taken, progress achieved, concerns and recommendations on a yearly basis in a time frame that corresponds to planned AOPC and CBS meetings;
  5. Assist AOPC in the revisions of GSN and GUAN stations;
  6. Assist the WMO Secretariat in maintaining the list of National Focal Points for GCOS and related Climatological Data.


Report from the 2011 CBS Lead Centres Meeting


WMO Regional Association (RA)
WMO Member/
Host Institution of Lead Centre
Lead Centre Contact

Responsible for GSN and GUAN stations in: (Map)

Latest Report

RA I (Africa)

Morocco (DMN)

Feddoul El Ouazzany

Algeria, Benin, Burkina Faso, Cameroon, Comoros Islands, Cape Verde, Central African Republic, Chad, Congo, Côte d'Ivoire, Egypt, Gabon, Ghana, Gambia, Guinea, Guinea Bissau, Guinea Equatorial, Liberia, Libyan Arab Jamahiriya, Madagascar, Mali, Niger, Nigeria, Mauritania, Morocco, Senegal, Sierra Leone, Sao Tome and Principe, Sudan, Togo, Tunisia
RA I (Africa) Mozambique (INM)

Jose Sequeira

Patricio Domingos

Angola, Botswana , Burundi, Canary Island, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Djibouti, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Kenya, Lesotho, Malawi, Mauritius, Mozambique, Namibia, the Ocean Islands (St. Helena Island, Ascension Island, Martin de Vivies, Iles Crozet, Iles Kerguelen), Rwanda, Seychelles, Somalia, South Africa, Swaziland, Uganda, United Republic of Tanzania, Zambia, Zimbabwe

April 2013
RA II (Asia), RA VI (Europe) Iran (IRIMO)

Mina Jabbari

Maryam Razeh Keisami

Afghanistan, Armenia, Azerbaijan, Bahrain, India, Iran, Jordan, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Maldives, Nepal, Oman, Pakistan, Qatar, Russian Federation, Saudi Arabia, Sri Lanka, Syria, Tajikistan, Turkey, United Arab Emirates, Yemen
RA II (Asia) Japan (JMA) Kazuyoshi Yoshimatsu

Brunei, Cambodia, China, Japan, Laos, Malaysia, Mongolia, Myanmar, Philippines, Republic of Korea, Singapore, Thailand, Vietnam

March 2013

March 2012

Jan 2011

March 2010

RA III (South America) Chile (DMC)

Jorge Carrasco

Gaston Torres

All of RA III (South America)

April 2010
RA IV (North and Central America, Caribbean) USA (NOAA NCDC)

Jay Lawrimore

Most of RA IV (North and Central America, and the Caribbean) and Hawaii
March 2010
RA V (South-West Pacific) Australia (BOM) Kevin Smith
Most of RA V, except those areas noted for Japan and Hawaii
May 2011
RA VI (Europe) Germany (DWD) Christiana Lefebvre
Most of RA VI (Europe), except those countries noted for Iran

April 2013

March 2012

Jan 2011

March 2010

Antarctica UK (BAS)

Steve Colwell

All of Antarctica

March 2013

March 2012

Jan 2011

April 2010

Last modified on Tue, 23 Apr 2013