RA I Dissemination Expert Group
Programmes > Space > Regional Activities > RA I Dissemination Expert Group

RA I Dissemination Expert Group

Following recommendations from the EUMETSAT User Forum in Africa and the WMO Regional Association I (Africa), the RA I Dissemination Expert Group (RAIDEG) was established by WMO in cooperation with EUMETSAT, as part of the strategy to improve satellite data accessibility and user awareness in developing countries.

The Terms of Reference of the RA I Dissemination Expert Group are to:

  • Collect, review and maintain requirements for access to meteorological and environmental data and products by NMHSs and partner organizations in Africa;
  • Analyze the requirements for satellite-based products expressed by African NMHSs, Centres of Excellence, Training Institutes and other environmental monitoring organizations in Africa making use of EUMETCast and GTS dissemination services; and
  • Make recommendations on the requirements for products and on the assignment of priorities, aiming at optimizing product dissemination through EUMETCast or the GTS.


The group has held the following meetings:
1st meeting: Ouagadougou, Burkina Faso (26 September 2010)
2nd meeting: Darmstadt, Germany (28-30 June 2011)
3rd meeting: Addis Ababa, Ethiopia (30 September 2012)
4th meeting: Geneva, Switzerland (11-12 June 2013)
5th meeting: Johannesburg, South Africa (6-7 September 2014)
6th meeting: Darmstadt, Germany (24-25 August 2015)

The group performs a regular review of the EUMETCast-Africa Dissemination Baseline compared with the needs expressed by RA I users (requirements version post-RAIDEG-5) , and formulates recommendations to EUMETSAT. It also discusses other technical matters regarding satellite data utilization in Africa.


(International Organization)

Joseph Kagenyi
Maixent Kambi
Kumar Ram Dhurmea
Tahar Saouri
Leon-Guy Razafindrakoto
Diakaria Kone
Marianne Diop Kane
Nico Kroese
George Wiafe
EUMETSAT Representative
WMO Representative

Kenya (for Eastern Africa)
Congo-Brazzaville (for Central Africa)
Mauritius (for Indian Ocean region)
Morocco (for Northern Africa)
Senegal (for Western Africa)
South Africa (for Southern Africa)

(Updated: 23 Sep 2015)



© World Meteorological Organization, 7bis, avenue de la Paix, Case postale No. 2300, CH-1211 Geneva 2, Switzerland - Tel.: +41(0)22 730 81 11 - Fax: +41(0)22 730 81 81Disclaimer | UN System | Accessibility