ICTSW (Space Weather)
Programmes > Space > Space Weather > ICTSW

Interprogramme Coordination Team on Space Weather (ICTSW)

The Interprogramme Coordination Team on Space Weather (ICTSW) was established in May 2010 following a proposal from the Commission for Basic Systems (CBS-14) supported by the Commission for Aeronautical Meteorology (CAeM) and approved by the Executive Council (EC-LXI).

Terms of Reference

The ICTSW is established with the following Terms of Reference:

  • Standardization and enhancement of Space Weather data exchange and delivery through the WMO Information System (WIS)
  • Harmonized definition of end-products and services, including e.g. quality assurance guidelines and emergency warning procedures, in interaction with aviation and other major application sectors
  • Integration of Space Weather observations, through review of space- and surface-based observation requirements, harmonization of sensor specifications, monitoring plans for Space Weather observation
  • Encouraging the dialogue between the research and operational Space Weather communities.

The ICTSW has two co-chairs nominated by the Commission for Basic Systems (CBS) and the Commission for Aeronautical Meteorology (CAeM) respectively. The team works primarily by teleconferences and holds one or more face-to-face meetings per year.


Co-chair nominated by CBS-14 (2009):  Dr Terry Onsager (USA, NOAA)

Co-chair nominated by CAeM (2009): Dr Xiaoxin Zhang (China, CMA)

ICTSW Membership  (Updated in October 2015) 


Initial Objectives, Work Plan, and outcomes


Print Friendly and PDF


© World Meteorological Organization, 7bis, avenue de la Paix, Case postale No. 2300, CH-1211 Geneva 2, Switzerland - Tel.: +41(0)22 730 81 11 - Fax: +41(0)22 730 81 81 Contact us Copyright | Privacy | Scams | Disclaimer |  Guidelines | Procurement | UN System | Accessibility