Commission for Climatology world map
Programmes > WCP > CCl > CCl-16 > Technical Conference > Organizers

WMO Technical Conference onClimate Services – Building on CLIPS Legacy

30 June – 2 July 2014, Heidelberg, Germany


Scientific Organizing Committee

Mr Rodney Martinez, CIIFEN (Chair)  Prof Manola Brunet, Spain
Mr Jean-Pierre Ceron, France Dr Filippo Giorgi, Italy
Dr Clare Goodess, UK    Dr Andre Kamga, ACMAD
Dr. Agnes Kijazi, Tanzania Mr Stefan Rösner, Germany
Prof Fred Semazzi, USA Dr G. Srinivasan, India
Ms Barbara Tapia, Chile Dr William Wright, Australia


The World Climate Research Programme (WCRP) was established in 1980 by WMO and the International Council for Science (ICSU) as an outcome of the first World Climate Conference. The Intergovernmental Oceanographic Commission (IOC) of the United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO) joined as a sponsor in 1993. WCRP's mission is to facilitate analysis and prediction of the Earth's climate system variability and change for use in an increasing range of practical applications of direct relevance, benefit and value to society.

The Deutscher Wetterdienst (DWD), which was founded in 1952, is as National Meteorological Service of the Federal Republic of Germany responsible for providing services for the protection of life and property in the form of weather and climate information. This is the core task of the DWD and includes the meteorological safeguarding of aviation and marine shipping and the warning of meteorological events that could endanger public safety and order. DWD is responsible for meeting meteorological requirements from all areas of economy and society in Germany.







World Meteorological Organization, 7bis, avenue de la Paix, CP No. 2300, CH-1211 Geneva 2, Switzerland - Tel.: +41(0)22 730 81 11 - Fax: +41(0)22 730 81 81
Disclaimer | UN System | Accessibility
   Extranet Homepage Website Public Comms