World Climate Services Programme
Climate Applications and Services
world map
Programmes > WCP > WCASP / CLIPS >

Regional Climate Centres Implementation in Europe

In the Regional Association VI (Europe), the RCC-Network approach has been chosen to ensure incorporation of as much competence and know-how as possible of more than 50 Members of RA VI. Thus, after successful completion of the demonstration phase, the RA VI RCC-Network was formally designated as a WMO RCC-Network in 2013 being endorsed by the 65th Executive Council. It consists of the following three Nodes:

Each of these nodes is supported by a consortium of National Meteorological and Hydrological Services (NMHSs) of RA VI Member countries. The RA VI RCC-Network is currently being coordinated by Germany.


Regional Climate Outlook Forums in RA VI

Three Regional Climate Outlook Forums (RCOF) have been established and are successfully implemented in the RA VI:

  • the South-East European Climate Outlook Forum (SEECOF), the first RCOF implemented in the RA VI since 2008, is coordinated by the South East European Virtual Climate Change Center (SEEVCCC),
  • the North Eurasian Climate Outlook Forum (NEACOF) has been established and coordinated by the NEACC and covers the Commonwealth Independent States (CIS) region spanning across RA II and RA VI,
  • the Mediterranean Climate Outlook Forum (MedCOF) is an inter-regional initiative from RA I and RA VI for the entire Mediterranean region encompassing two existing RCOFs, i.e. SEECOF and the forum of Prévisions Climatiques Saisonnières en Afrique du Nord (PRESANORD). The MedCOF is coordinated by the State Agency for Meteorology of Spain (AEMET).



World Meteorological Organization, 7bis, avenue de la Paix, CP No. 2300, CH-1211 Geneva 2, Switzerland - Tel.: +41(0)22 730 81 11 - Fax: +41(0)22 730 81 81
Disclaimer | UN System | Accessibility


Extranet Homepage Website Public Comms