Severe Weather Forecasting Demonstration Project world map

SWFDP Regional Subproject in Eastern Africa

(SWFDP-Eastern Africa)

Beneficiary Countries:

7 countries in Eastern Africa: Burundi, Ethiopia, Kenya, Rwanda, South Sudan, Tanzania and Uganda                

Regional Centres:

RSMC-Nairobi (for whole domain)

RFSC-Dar Es Salaam (for Lake Victoria basin)                                            

Contributing Global Centres:


Start of Project planning & development:

In 2010

Subproject websites since 2011:

RSMC Nairobi:

RFSC Dar Es Salaam: 

Main Focus:

Heavy rain, strong winds, large waves (coastal areas of western Indian Ocean and Lake Victoria), Dry spells

Present Status:

In Phase-II. Full demonstration phase since September 2013


Regional Subproject Implementation Plan (RSIP) version May 2013


Mainly Norwegian funds during 2011-2015

SWFDP Development in Eastern Africa

The Fifteenth Session of World Meteorological Congress (Cg-XV, 2007) noted the significant development and progress of the Severe Weather Forecasting Demonstration Project (SWFDP), from concepts to the first SWFDP regional subproject, implemented in the south-eastern region of Africa in 2006. Further, while noting the importance of accurate and timely severe weather warnings for Members and that if the SWFDP in south-eastern Africa was successful, decided that its concept  should be expanded and implemented throughout RA I (Africa) and to other WMO Regions especially in developing countries. In that regard, Cg-XV requested the CBS to consider the possibility of implementing similar projects in Africa and the South Pacific Islands.

Subsequently, the development of SWFDP in Eastern Africa in RA I (Africa), was started in 2010 initially with participation of six countries (namely Burundi, Ethiopia, Kenya, Rwanda, Tanzania and Uganda) and with support of RSMC Nairobi and RFSC Dar Es Salaam as contributing Regional Centres and UKMO, ECMWF, NOAA/NCEP and DWD as contributing Global Centres. A technical planning workshop on SWFDP development for Eastern Africa was held in Nairobi, Kenya on 4-8 October, 2010.

The first meeting of Regional Subproject Management Team (RSMT) was also held in Nairobi, Kenya on 21-24 June, 2011 to review the draft regional subproject implementation plan (RSIP) including timeline for the demonstration phase of the project. For development and enhancement of the project website (RSMC Nairobi), two NWP/Web Developers Workshops were organized in Nairobi, Kenya on 9-11 May 2011 and on 14-16 March 2012.

The demonstration (pilot phase) of the project was started in September 2011 with participation of six countries in the region. In 2012, WMO SWFDP Expert Missions were carried out to Rwanda (Kigali, 23-25 April, 2012), Burundi (Bujumbura, 4-5 June, 2012) and Uganda (Entebbe, 7-8 June, 2012) to assess the forecasting capacity and service delivery capacity for developing national implementation plans (IPs).

SWFDP-Eastern Africa

The SWFDP in Eastern Africa has been in full demonstration phase with participation of seven countries in the region (including South Sudan which joined SWFDP in May 2013), since September 2013.

A two-week training workshop on severe weather forecasting (GDPFS) and warning services (PWS) is also organized for the forecasters and PWS staff of the benefitting NMHSs every year on regular basis since inception of the project. So far such training workshops have been held in Tanzania (in 2010 & 2011), Uganda (in 2012), Burundi (in 2013), Rwanda (in 2014) and Ethiopia (in 2015).


SWFDP-Eastern Africa: Activities & Milestones since 2010


  • Technical Planning Workshop on SWFDP Development for Eastern Africa (Nairobi, Kenya, 4-8 Oct, 2010)
  • Two-week SWFDP-Eastern Africa Training Workshop (GDPFS & PWS) (Dar Es Salaam, Tanzania, 18-29 Oct, 2010)


  • RA I-SWFDP-EA NWP/Web Developers Workshop (Nairobi, Kenya, 9-11 May, 2011).
  • First Meeting of RSMT to develop and review RSIP (Nairobi, Kenya, 21-24 June, 2011)
  • Start of RSMC, Nairobi web portal
  • Start of Demonstration (pilot phase) in September, 2011 involving 6 countries
  • Two-week SWFDP-Eastern Africa Training Workshop (GDPFS & PWS) (Arusha, Tanzania, 21 Nov-2 Dec, 2011)


  • RA I-SWFDP-EA NWP/Web Developers Workshop (Nairobi, Kenya, 14-16 March, 2012).
  • WMO SWFDP Mission to Rwanda (Kigali, 23-25 April, 2012)
  • WMO SWFDP Mission to Burundi  (Bujumbura, 4-5 June, 2012)
  • WMO SWFDP Mission to Uganda  (Entebbe, 7-8 June, 2012)
  • Two-week SWFDP-Eastern Africa Training Workshop (GDPFS & PWS) (Entebbe, Uganda, 19-30 Nov, 2012)


  • South Sudan joined SWFDP-Eastern Africa as a participating country in May, 2013
  • Second Meeting of RSMT  to discuss progress of the project and evaluation of pilot phase, and to review RSIP for SWFDP-EA (Arusha, Tanzania, 27-31 May, 2013)
  • Two-week SWFDP-Eastern Africa Training Workshop (GDPFS & PWS) (Bujumbura, Burundi, 11-22 Nov, 2013)
  • Start of Full Demonstration phase (Field phase) in September, 2013 with involvement of 7 countries including South Sudan


  • Two-week SWFDP-Eastern Africa Training Workshop (Kigali, Rwanda, 10-21 November, 2014)


  • Two-week SWFDP-Eastern Africa Training Workshop (Addis Ababa, Ethiopia, 16-27 November, 2015)




Related items

©2016 World Meteorological Organization, 7bis, avenue de la Paix, CP No. 2300, CH-1211 Geneva 2, Switzerland - Tel.: +41(0)22 730 81 11 - Fax: +41(0)22 730 81 81Disclaimer | UN System | Accessibility


  Extranet Homepage Website Public Comms