Weather Climate Water Home | WMO activities| In the news | In the press |Recently issued | Upcoming events

Highlights of the 2005 Executive Council


Highlights of the Council, which held its 57th session from 21 June to 1 July, focused, among others, on Least Developed Countries, a multi-hazard prevention and mitigation strategy, improving weather forecasts, climate watch systems, the Global Earth Observation System of Systems, new ozone information products, the International Polar Year 2007-2008 and a conference on economic and social benefits to be convened in 2007.   

(For more details, see Recent events

The Council endorsed the appointment of Mr Jeremiah Lengoasa, CEO of South Africa Weather Services, as Assistant Secretary-General of WMO. Mr Lengoasa will assume his new duties in September 2005.  

New acting members of the Executive Council 

The Executive Council elected six new acting members: 

Mr Francisco Cadarso Gonzlez (Permanent Representative of Spain with WMO)

Mr Sanjiv Nair (Permanent Representative of India with WMO)  

Mr Mourad Shawky Saadallah (Permanent Representative of Egypt with WMO) 

Mr Massimo Capaldo (Permanent Representative of Italy with WMO)

Mr John Mitchell (Permanent Representative of UK with WMO)

Mr Wolfgang Kusch (Permanent Representative of Germany with WMO)


Former President of WMO wins 50th IMO Prize 

The 57th session of the WMO Executive Council awarded the prestigious IMO Prize to Dr John W. Zillman (Australia).   

Dr Zillman was Director of the Australian Bureau of Meteorology from 1978 until his retirement in 2003 and was Permanent Representative of Australia from 1978 until 2004. 

As of 1978 he was a member of the WMO Executive Council. He served as Vice-President of the Organization from 1987 to 1995 and as President from 1995 to 2003. He remained a member of the Executive Council until 2004. 

Norbert Gerbier-MUMM International Award 2005 

The Norbert Gerbier-MUMM International Award for 2005 was presented to Dr Gufran Beig of the Indian Institute of Meteorology (Pune, India) and 18 other scientists from around the world for their paper entitled Review of mesospheric temperature trends, published in 2003 in Volume 4 of the Reviews of Geophysics  

Dr Gufran Beig and Dr R.P. Lowe received the Award on behalf of the other 17 winners. 
Also in the photo: Mr Bidaut, representative of the MUMM Foundation, and Mme Guiard-Gerbier

Dr Beig accepted the award on behalf of his fellow researchers: P. Keckhut, R.P. Lowe, R.G. Roble, M.G. Mlynczak, J. Scheer, V.I. Fomichev, D. Offermann, W.J.R. French, M.G. Shepherd, A.I. Semenov, E.E. Remsberg, C.Y. She, F.J. Lbken, J. Bremer, B.R. Clemesha, J. Stegman, F. Sigernes and S. Fadnavis.  

Scientific lectures 

Two scientific lectures were presented to the Executive Council on 30 June by two distinguished experts: 

Mr Chiu-Ying Lam, Permanent Representative of Hong Kong, China, with WMO, gave a lecture entitled: "The role of NMHSs in natural disaster reduction"; 

Dr Michael H. Glantz (National Center for Atmospheric Research, USA) gave a lecture entitled: "Climatea resource for social and economic development". 

See: and 





Downloads & Links

Related sites
Web Design: Webmaster Content: JTorres - W M O - O M M © 2004 Geneva, Switzerland