August 2006 Downloads & Links

WMO Awards


Lennart Bengtsson wins IMO Prize

The 58th session of the WMO Executive Council, meeting in Geneva from 20 to 30 June, awarded the prestigious 51st IMO Prize to Prof. Lennart Bengtsson Prize for his pioneering research in numerical weather prediction. Prof. Bengtsson has contributed to the development of meteorological science and international cooperation for more than 40 years.

Prof. Bengtsson was interviewed in the July 2004 issue of the WMO Bulletin.


For more information about the IMO Prize, see:

50th IMO Prize

On 9 May 2006 in Adelaide, Australia, the 50th International Meteorological Organization (IMO) Prize was presented by the Secretary-General of WMO, Michel Jarraud, and the President of WMO, Alexander Bedritskiy, to John W. Zillman, former Director of the Australian Bureau of Meteorology (1978-2003) and President of WMO from 1999 to 2003.



Norbert Gerbier-Mumm International Award

The purpose of the Norbert Gerbier-MUMM International Award is to encourage and reward an original scientific paper on the influence of meteorology in a particular field of the physical, natural or human sciences or on the influence of one of these sciences on meteorology. 

The Norbert Gerbier-MUMM Award was instituted by the 39th session of the WMO Executive Council in 1987 in memory of the late Norbert Gerbier, who served from 1979 to 1985 as president of the WMO Commission for Agricultural Meteorology. Four years later, the title was changed to Norbert Gerbier-MUMM International Award. The prize consists of a diploma, a medal bearing the image of Norbert Gerbier and a cash sum.

Eminent scientists of international renown are requested to appraise, each year, papers that are being considered for the Award. The Executive Council's Selection Committee then reviews these assessments and, on the basis of its recommendations, the Council makes the final selection. During the period 1988 to 2005, 127 scientists from 22 countries have received the Norbert Gerbier-MUMM International Award.

2006 Award

On 28 June 2006, Timothy Palmer received the 2006 Norbert Gerbier-Mumm International Award on behalf of his 24 collaborators (from 13 institutions, seven nationalities) for their paper entitled “Development of a European multimodel ensemble system for season-to-interannual prediction (DEMETER)”, published in Volume 85 of the Bulletin of the American Meteorological Society in 2004

The other winners were: A. Alessandri, U. Andersen, P. Cantelaube, M. Davey, P. Délécluse, M. Déqué, E. Diez, F.J. Doblas-Reyes, H. Feddersen, R. Graham, S. Gualdi, J.-F. Guérémy, R. Hagedorn, M. Hoshen, N. Keenlyside, M. Latif, A. Lazar, E. Maisonnave, V. Marletto, A.P. Morse, B. Orfila, P. Rogel, J.-M. Terres, and M.C. Thomson.

See also item “Prize money used to train African scientists” in “In the news”


2007 Award

The 58th session of the Executive Council conferred the Norbert Gerbier-MUMM International Award for 2007 to Rolf Philipona, Bruno Dürr, Atsumu Ohmura and Christian Ruckstuhl (all from Switzerland) for their paper entitled "Anthropogenic greenhouse forcing and strong water vapour feedback increase temperature in Europe", published in Geophysical Research Letters in 2005 (Volume 32, L19809, doi:10.1029/2005GL023624).




 Professor Dr Vilho Väisälä Awards

J.P. Pichamuthu (India) was awarded the 20th Professor Dr Vilho Väisälä Award for an Outstanding Research Paper on Instruments and Methods of Observation for his paper entitled “Directional variation of visual range due to anisotropic atmospheric brightness”, published in Applied Optics, Volume 44, No. 8, 1464-1468, March 2005.

J. Nash, R. Smout, M. Smees (all from the United Kingdom) and C. Bower (USA) were awarded the first Professor Dr Vilho Väisälä Award for the Development and Implementation of Instruments and Methods of Observation for their paper entitled “Dar-es-Salaam demonstration test of IMS 1600 Integrated Upper Air System, Dar-es-Salaam, 18-30 October 2004”, published in IOM Report No. 82, TD-1267, May 2005.




WMO Research Award for Young Scientists

Walter Collischonn, Sidnei Gusmao Agra, Glauco Kimura de Freitas, Gabriela Rocha Priante, Rutinéia Tassi and Christopher Freire Souza (all from Brazil) were awarded the 2006 WMO Research Award for Young Scientists for their paper “Searching for an ecological hydrograph” (“Em busca do hidrograma ecologico”). 




WMO Professor Mariolopoulos Award
(17 May 2006,
Anavyssos, Athens, Greece)

The WMO Professor Mariolopoulos Award, which is granted for an outstanding research paper in atmospheric sciences published or accepted during the last two years in a refereed journal by a young scientist (age below 35 years by the date of publication), in 2006 was split between two scientists:

Jeffrey Robert Knight for his paper entitled: “A signature of persistent natural thermohaline circulation cycles in observed climate” and 

Nikolaos Christidis for his paper entitled: “Detection of changes in temperature extremes during the second half of the 20th century”.

Jeffrey Knight, one of the winners of the 2006 WMO Professor Mariolopoulos Award

The paper by Jeffrey Knight and colleagues is on climate predictability related to cycles in ocean circulation. An accurate understanding of climate change requires a good understanding of the coupled atmosphere-ocean system and the forces behind natural climate variability. His research indicates that the Atlantic Multi-decadal Oscillation is a genuine component of internal climate variability persisting for many centuries. This oscillation explains some of the variability in sea surface temperature. Simulations of ocean circulation over a 1400-year simulation period suggest that there is some predictability related to the Atlantic Multi-decadal Oscillation that helps in reducing uncertainties in predictions of climate change in the next several decades.

The research of Nikolaos Christidis and colleagues on detection of changes in temperature extremes during the last half of the twentieth century was based on the analysis of observations covering the northern hemisphere and Australia coupled with climate modeling.  A unique optimal detection analysis was applied to conclude that there is a significant human influence on patterns of change in temperatures of extremely warm nights and that warm nights are one of the most robust indicators of climate change. Based on climate modelling, it is suggested that there will be a large increase in the temperature of the warmest nights in the 21st century.

The Ceremony was attended by representatives of the Academy of Athens, the Hellenic National Meteorological Service, the Ministry of Finance, the Ministry of Education, the General Secretariat for Research and Technology and the Hellenic Physical Society.



Short printable version English
MeteoWorld archive
50 years ago...
High-impact weather
Related sites
Art gallery
International Polar Year