June 2007 Downloads & Links

WMO awards for exceptional research or lifetime achievements in meteorological and related sciences


International Meteorological Organization Prize

The 52nd International Meteorological Organization (IMO) Prize—WMO’s most prestigious honour—will be awarded to Professor Jagadish Shukla (India/USA) for his outstanding work in the field of meteorology.

Prof. Shukla has made significant contributions to the understanding of the predictability of weather and climate including the Asian monsoon dynamics, deforestation and desertification.

His research established that there is a scientific basis for short-term climate prediction. He was instrumental in creating weather and climate research centres in India and was invited by India to be the scientific leader in establishing the National Center for Medium Range Weather Forecasting in New Delhi.

In 2005, he was awarded the Rossby Medal by the American Meteorological Society—its highest honour.

The International Meteorological Organization was WMO’s predecessor organization. The IMO Prize is awarded each year to individuals in the fields of meteorology and operational hydrology. Winners receive a 14-carat gold medal and a cash sum of CHF 10 000.


Prof. Shukla was interviewed in the WMO Bulletin 54 (4), October 2005.



Norbert Gerbier–Mumm International Award

The Norbert Gerbier–Mumm International Award for 2008 is conferred on Abebe Yeshanew (National Meteorological Services Agency, Ethiopia) and Mark Jury (University of Zululand, South Africa for their paper: North African climate variability. Part 1: Tropical thermocline coupling; Part 2: Tropical Circulation Systems; and Part 3: Resource Prediction. The paper was published in Theoretical and Applied Climatology.

Climate variability in tropical North Africa influences all walks of life. To efficiently tap available resources (climate, water and agriculture), it is important to develop an early warning system for climate variability based on a sound scientific understanding of its causes.

In the first part of the paper, the authors studied the variability of the upper warm layer of the tropical ocean (thermocline) and demonstrated how this variability contributes to zonal circulation irregularities in the atmosphere.

In the second section, the authors used a Sahel rainfall index and stream flows of the Nile River in the 20th century to diagnose the mechanisms that govern tropical North Africa climate and its variability. 

The authors investigated the variability of climate-sensitive resources in the third part of their paper with a goal to develop statistical long-lead prediction models with reasonable accuracy.

The Norbert Gerbier-Mumm Award was established by the 39th session of the Executive Council in 1987 and aims to reward an original scientific paper on the influence of meteorology in a particular field of the physical, natural or human sciences or the influence of one of those sciences on meteorology.

Winners receive a medal and a cash sum of € 7 600.

See also item in "In the news" on the award of the Norbert Gerbier–Mumm International Award for 2007.

WMO Research Award for Young Scientists

The Executive Council bestowed the 2007 WMO Research Award for Young Scientists on Gabrielle De Lannoy (Belgium) and Paola Salio (Argentina) for thire paper: Assessment of model uncertainty for soil moisture through ensemble verification; for Mesoscale convective systems (MCSs) over Southeastern South America and their relationship with the South American low-level jet (SALLJ).

Mrs De Lannoy’s study focused on employing prediction methods used in atmospheric science and applying them to hydrology. Soil moisture plays a massive role in weather behaviour and her research modelled and observed this moisture with the goal of improving weather predictions in the future.

Mrs Salio’s paper researched the relationship between MCSs (large clusters of storms) and SALLJ which refers to the intense atmospheric circulation of moisture to the east of the Andes.

The Award is a means of encouraging young scientists for outstanding research work in all fields of meteorology and hydrology.

Winners receive a citation and a cash sum of US$ 1 000.

Award ceremonies for the IMO Prize and the WMO Research Award for Young Scientists will take place later this year at dates yet to be decided. The Norbert Gerbier–Mumm International Award will take place at the next session of the Executive Council in 2008.



Short printable version English
MeteoWorld archive
50 years ago...
High-impact weather
Related sites
Art gallery
International Polar Year
Contact for content: pwmu[at] - WMO - OMM ©2007 Geneva, Switzerland