Regional cooperation and development activities
Programmes > DRA > Regional Office for Asia and Pacific > Region V

Region V (South-West Pacific)

The Region covers the vast expanse of the South-West Pacific Ocean but also includes adjacent oceanic areas north of the Equator as well as eastern parts of the Indian Ocean. The countries that comprise the Regional Association are diverse in many respects: culturally, economically, biologically, geographically and climatologically.

The climate and weather-related hazards that most frequently occur in the Region are tropical cyclones and associated storm surges, floods, landslides, severe thunderstorms, wildfires and drought. Typhoons forming over the equatorial northwest Pacific Ocean frequently impact the Philippines, making it one of the most tropical cyclone prone areas on the planet. Few countries in the Region are immune from tropical cyclone impact. Drought can affect any country within RA V from the tropics to the mid-latitudes. Other threats linked with global warming include sea-level rise (of great significance in a region dominated by ocean) and increased wildfire occurrence. The Region contains significant geological instability that can result in devastating tsunami events as occurred in December 2004 in Indonesia as well as hazard to aviation through volcanic ash intrusions into the atmosphere.



President Vice-President Regional Hydrological Adviser
Dr Andi Eka SAKYA (Indonesia)

Mr 'Ofa FA'ANUNU (Tonga)

Mr Charles PEARSON (New Zealand)
Member Permanent Representative Hydrological Adviser
Australia Dr Robert VERTESSY  
Brunei Mr Muhamad Husaini bin AJI  
Cook Islands Mr Arona NGARI  
Fiji Mr Ravind KUMAR  
French Polynesia Mr Jean-Marc LACAVE Mr Gerard THERRY
Indonesia Dr Andi Eka SAKYA  
Kiribati Mr Rition KABUNATEITI  
Malaysia Mr CHE GAYAH Ismail Mr Azmi bin Md. JAFRI
Federated States of Micronesia Mr Johannes BERDON Mr Robert M. HADLEY
New Caledonia Mr  Jean-Marc LACAVE Mr Geoffroy WOTLING
New Zealand Mr Peter LENNOX Mr Charles PEARSON
Niue the Permanent Representative of Niue with WMO  
Papua New Guinea Mr Kevin LUANA Mr Maino VIROBO
Philippines Dr Vicente B. MALANO Mr Ramon ALIKPALA
Samoa Ms Peseta Noumea SIMI  
Singapore Ms WONG Chin Ling  
Solomon Islands Mr Chanel IROI Mr Charlie BEPAPA
Timor Leste The Permanent Representative of Timor-Leste with WMO  
Tonga Mr 'Ofa FA'ANUNU Mr Kelepi S. MAFI
Tuvalu Mr Tauala KATEA  
United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland Mr Robert VARLEY Prof Alan JENKINS
Unites States for America Ms Laura K. FURGIONE Mr William H. WERKHEISER
Vanuatu Mr David GIBSON Mr Christopher IOAN



... (more)



World Meteorological Organization, 7bis, avenue de la Paix, CP No. 2300, CH-1211 Geneva 2, Switzerland - Tel.: +41(0)22 730 81 11 - Fax: +41(0)22 730 81 81
Disclaimer | UN System | Accessibility


Extranet Homepage Website Public Comms